7 thoughts on “Things I will never understand (8/16/12)

  1. Christine. says:

    I’ve been on one and I hated it. I was pregnant at the time though. 🙂

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      You must have been at a particularly unsavory carnival. Weren’t there signs warning against pregnant women and those with heart conditions riding the rides?

      You poor thing!

      Like

      • Christine. says:

        Well, I have got over it now.It was a long time ago but I remember thinking,’Oh s**t I don’t like this’. Ha. The trouble was I had a few more minutes to bear before I could get off. I didn’t want to appear stupid so I kept my screams in and my breath. The ride was at a fairground so at the time there were no warnings etc. There probably would be these days. Don’t worry I’m fine now. (Well if you read my blog you might disagree but I now have an excuse – I went on a ferris wheel when I was pregnant.) Thanks for reminding me. 🙂 🙂

        Like

  2. why am I here in a handbasket? says:

    the best ride I was ever on was at the bloomsburg fair. It was sort of a ferris wheel, they strapped you in and around and around you went. It was all fun and games until you were hanging upside down at the top. I entrusted a fucking carnie, who probably put the ride together in 5 minutes, with my life. I screamed my ass off the entire time and my friends could hear me laughing all the way across the fairgrounds.

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      There is a mall near here (well, there are many, but that’s a whole other story) that has an indoor Ferris wheel. My daughter used to beg me to let her go on it, but she was too little to go alone. I used to make up every excuse in the book (no time, no money, you just ate, etc.). Finally one day I relented, took a deep breath and boarded the circle of death with my 7-year-old. Within minutes the teenager who was manning the ticket booth had to STOP the ride in the MIDDLE of the mall so that the panic-stricken woman (the kid was fine) could get off. Curiously, my kid never asked to go on it again.

      Like

Tell Me What You Think!

