Meet Todd


20120821-123323.jpg

Meet Todd Akin, representative-2nd congressional district, member, United States House of Representatives (R-Missouri), currently seeking the United States Senate seat now held by Democrat Claire McCaskill

He’s the guy, when asked by Mike Huckabee (a former Republican presidential candidate turned radio/television “personality”), whether he(Rep. Akin) would support abortion in cases where the woman had been raped, responded thusly:

“It seems to be, first of all, from what I understand from doctors, it’s really rare. If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut the whole thing down.”

I would love to meet the doctors from whom he gleaned this information.
I would love to take a peek at Missouri’s science curriculum.
I would like him to have to explain these comments, face-to-face, to the “illegitimately raped”.
I wish that there were some way for him to be prosecuted for his stupidity and be sentenced to work in a rape crisis center for the rest of his life.
I hope that he stays in the race.
I hope that the good people of Missouri come to the polls in record numbers and “show” him something.
I would love for him to garner one vote: his own.
I know that I’m dreaming.

Sorry that this isn’t a “funny” post. I’m just not feeling particularly funny today.

6 thoughts on “Meet Todd

  1. javaj240 says:

    Thanks! This is a bit of a departure from what I usually blog about, but I was pissed! This guy takes stupidity to a whole new level. As I write this, he is still in the race. So, we shall see what happens.

    Thanks for reading and for commenting (twice, in fact..)!

    Like

  2. Roshni says:

    I loved this post. I absolutely agree with you on the “I would love to” points! How I wish atleast a couple of them could happen! Love your writing style and the thoughts that drove you to write it.

    Like

  3. His Doctors stayed at a Red Roof…a few notches below Holiday Inn Express.

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Really? Sometimes I can’t tell when you’re kidding. Is there really info on the docs that he supposedly consulted on this? I did not even think to look for that, assuming that he just made it up. So, please, tell me you are kidding.

      Like

Tell Me What You Think!

