Things I Will Never Understand (9/4/12)


I have never purposely watched a single episode of one of the television programs devoted to these hideous children’s pageants. My daughter used to watch one of them; I would make her turn it off when I was in the room. To me, this is a form of child abuse, on so many levels.

I understand that there is a new one about a kid called “Honey, Boo Boo”. The people at work talk about it constantly. I cannot imagine how bored and lazy I would have to be to waste my time on this drivel. Read a book! (Even one of those “50 Shades” things would be an acceptable alternative to this shit.) Or, get up and make a pie or clean out your sock drawer. Something. Anything. If people stop watching this programming, they will stop making it.

And don’t even get me started on the whole “Real Housewives of…” nonsense. I am a real housewife of New Jersey. They should follow me around for a day while I do actual “housewifely” stuff, like the never-ending laundry, your basic “let’s just keep it roto-virus free” cleaning, grocery shopping on a limited budget, cooking for the two pickiest eaters on earth (who, by the way, almost never want to eat the same thing on the same night), scheduling doctor’s/dentist’s appointments around work, field hockey, school, etc., rescheduling those same appointments twice because they conflict with something I was not informed of in advance, caring and grooming for an aging cat, and working full-time as a waitress (yeah, let’s not forget that important piece of my day). I’m tired just typing this shit.

I might tune in to one of these “Housewife” programs if there was a promo that showed one of these women with a toilet brush in her hand.

10 thoughts on “Things I Will Never Understand (9/4/12)

  1. Nicole says:

    I agree with you. I can’t stand the brainwashed people that watch those shows. Their brain cells are being destroyed.

    Like

  2. I need a week with honey boo boo. She’d be honey black and boo boo.

    Like

  3. peachyteachy says:

    I like this because of the roto-virus thing.

    Like

  4. javaj240 says:

    Like I said, I make them change the channel. I will not condone, tacitly or otherwise, something that I consider to be child abuse.

    Like

  5. MJ Conner says:

    Those pageant shows actually make me sick. We change the channel quickly if that comes on – although the only television we watch is either sports or Food Network. I guess those Housewives shows are supposed to be comedic, but they make me a little sick too.

    Like

  6. Okay, I’m totally on board with you on this one….so disgusting!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

