I Love a Rainy Day


Kids love snow days. I love rainy days.

Children don’t have to shovel the driveway, dig their cars out, or chisel the ice off of the mailbox. They get to build snowmen, make angels in the snow, and go careening down snow-covered hills. After which there is usually hot cocoa, grilled cheese, and tomato soup.

Snow days are a lot of work for adults. Who do you think makes the cocoa, sandwiches, and soup? Santa? He’s got better things to do, I’m sure.

Rainy days feel like playing hooky. Especially when everything is in place for whatever the rain happened to postpone. I had a nice, relaxing afternoon thanks to the gloomy weather. I had planned to go to my daughter’s 4 o’clock field hockey game. It got rained out.

Since I had already made dinner this morning and because I miraculously managed NOT to have a table that lingered over coffee, I was home from work by 2:20. I spent the last hour-and-a-half just hanging out… with myself. I may have had an uninterrupted thought or two.

I love a rainy day.

6 thoughts on “I Love a Rainy Day

  1. javaj240 says:

    Seems extreme, LOL!

    Like

  2. I’ve actually considered moving to Seattle because I LOVE rainy days!!! I think I would get my fill from there!

    Like

  3. javaj240 says:

    Of course.

    Like

  4. peachyteachy says:

    I want to follow this Karen Carpenter thing, but I think I should file that away as a potential future blogpost. I am happy that rain cut you some slack today. Of course, Natural Law commands that snow days are my Holy Grail.

    Like

  5. javaj240 says:

    I am the opposite of Karen Carpenter in many ways.

    Like

  6. surroundedbyimbeciles says:

    You are the opposite of Karen Carpenter. Rainy days always got her down.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

