Meatloaf at Midnight


It turns out that eating meatloaf at midnight may not have been a well-thought out gastronomical choice. Who knew?

When I got in from work last night my daughter and my best friend’s daughter were in the kitchen making browniecookies. Some sort of concoction of brownies and chocolate chip cookies. Don’t ask.

Round about 11:30 the friend’s daughter came crashing into my room (she’s the only one of my kid’s friends who would ever have the nerve to enter the inner sanctum; she actually gets into bed with me… pervert) asking if I had anything good to eat, as in, “actual food”. She went on to explain that there is never any food at her house. Poor thing. I told her to have a browniecookie. She sat on the edge of my bed. I could tell she was gearing up to get in it with me. I know from experience that that needed to be avoided at all costs. Because once she was in the bed my daughter would not be far behind. And all the ruckus would wake my husband. And who needs that after a long night of work?

So, I dragged myself out of bed and went into the kitchen where I pulled out leftover roast beef, meatloaf, biscuits, and grilled chicken. Then they spotted the salad. They wanted that, too. With black olives. Oh, and fresh mozzarella and roasted red peppers. I could go on. It was kind of like those Laura Numeroff books I read to them as children, “If You Give a Pig a Pancake” or “If You Give a Moose a Muffin”, except this felt more like “If You Give a Teenager an Inch”. After slicing cucumbers and tomatoes, dragging out dressings and condiments, and locating the jar of red cabbage that I knew was there somewhere, dammit, I had worked up a bit of an appetite myself.

I noted that the buzzards had left enough meatloaf for a decent midnight snack. I got out the rolls and the hot sauce.

We had a nice chat while we chowed down. I could tell they were tired when our conversation descended into “Yo Momma” and “That’s What She Said” jokes. I excused myself and went to bed. They were still awake and giggling when I fell asleep at around 2:00 AM. I woke up a few short hours later regretting every bite of the meatloaf with hot sauce on ciabatta bread that I had so stupidly consumed at midnight. Every last bite.

What I didn’t regret, however, was the opportunity to spend two hours in the company of a couple of very funny, warm, and intelligent 16-year-olds. It was worth all the discomfort that a 5:00 AM bathroom run implies.

photo credit: meat‑loaf.jpg simplyrecipes.com

16 thoughts on “Meatloaf at Midnight

  1. Lucky you! What I wouldn’t give for my son to be here with a bunch of his friends starving all the time, and so happy to be fed. What a great feeling!

    Like

  2. buttonw says:

    Browniecookies sound delicious!

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Oh, they were! It’s a box mix thing (Pillsbury or Duncan Hines, I would guess). Joe would love them. You, however, should remain true to your “no carbs/no sugar” thing. I would not want to be the one who led you to the evil browniecookie!

      Like

  3. javaj240 says:

    That is so true. So true!

    Like

  4. wedelmom says:

    Amazing what we put up with for our kids….and then figure out we enjoyed in spite of ourselves. 😉

    Like

  5. javaj240 says:

    Take a wild guess.

    Like

  6. why am I here in a handbasket? says:

    who cleaned the kitchen?

    Like

  7. Okay, this is actually your sweetest post! I knew you were a softy! I can honestly say I never once thought enough of any of my friend’s moms that I would have crawled in bed with them. You have “cool mom” written all over you!!!

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      They just know I’m a pushover. The kid in question is my best friend’s daughter. She and her sister and my daughter have been pushing their way into my bed since they were toddlers, LOL. Thank God none of them were ever bed wetters!

      Like

  8. javaj240 says:

    Just grab a fork. This kitchen never closes!

    Like

  9. Makes me want to be at your house at midnight – yum, that sounds delish. And how lucky your daughter is to have such a cool mom. And you are that she thinks you’re cool enough to hang with. Reminds me of times with my niece. Loved this.

    Like

  10. ethelthedean says:

    Brilliant, hilarious, and lovely. 🙂

    Like

  11. javaj240 says:

    Yes! Maybe someone should get Laura Numeroff on it!

    Like

  12. If you give a teenager an inch – love it. Someone should so write that.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

