Luckily, I Look Good in Orange!


In the wake of our current national disaster, I would like to commend those of you are putting your best feet forward. There are some of you, and you know who you are, who are not behaving well at all. To you, I would like to say:

    Shut the fuck up. Be grateful for what you have.

For those of you bitching about whatever it is you’re bitching about (no cable, no marathon, no school for the kiddies) please, pretty please, do the following: Shut the fuck up. For once in your sorry ass lives put some shit in perspective.

Not five miles away from where I sit typing this bullshit (in my warm house— with power, Internet, cable, and cell service) there are people, whole communities, who have lost EVERYTHING.

Stop bitching about waiting in a gas line. Walk your fat asses where they need to go. Save the gas you have. Don’t waste it taking photographs of your devastated neighbors to post to your crappy Facebook pages. If you got there, how about you roll down the window of your luxury car (which, by some miracle didn’t get buried under water or have a tree dropped on top of it!) and ask these folks if they need anything. Perhaps give them the coat off of your actual back. It’ll give you an excuse to drop by the mall and get a new one for yourself.

People who LITERALLY live in the shadow of Giants Stadium (or whatever they are calling it presently) are having a fairly rough go of it these days. Wasting resources on a bunch of folks throwing a sphere-shaped ball around seems pretty ridiculous to me, but what the hell do I know? Enjoy the game, sports fans!

Instead of watching the football game, Here’s an idea: Find a place to volunteer. There are plenty of places and ways to give. Find one of them and do what you can. Just because you watched the concert and donated a few bucks does not mean that there isn’t more to be done. There is plenty more to be done.

There’s another storm due to come through on Wednesday. They are calling for 40-50 mph winds and, depending on the temperature, possibly several inches of snow. There will, at the very least, be more rain. Maybe we won’t be so lucky then. Maybe we’ll be the ones in need. Hopefully someone will help us. Instead of whining about what it is they don’t have, I guarantee you that a few of them will come to our rescue. Guarantee it.

And if one joker gives me shit tonight when I go to work about why we are out of Budweiser bottles, I am going to be telling them to Shut The Fuck Up as I hit them over the head with a bottle of whatever we are lucky enough to have left. I may be writing this blog from jail tomorrow. Luckily, I look good in orange!

14 thoughts on “Luckily, I Look Good in Orange!

  1. Amen sister. Love, love that you say what you mean.

    Like

  2. javaj240 says:

    f-bombs never seem to be a problem for me. LOL. It’s the coming up with alternatives that often leave me scratching my head.

    Like

  3. Ad-libb3d says:

    Sometimes you just gotta let the f-bombs fall where they may. Well said. Love it.

    Like

  4. ethelthedean says:

    BOOM. And that is why you are one BAMF. I wish I could be there to help out, but because I cannot I’ve upped my monthly donations to the Red Cross instead.

    Stay brilliant, Ms. J.
    xx

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I was a little pissy and out of sorts when I wrote this. There are certainly large numbers of people working their butts off around here. It’s always just the vocal minority that get on my last nerve, LOL.

      Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Oops…forgot to say thanks for the donation! Anything folks do helps. During Katrina I certainly could not race down to New Orleans, so I did other things! Thanks again!

      Like

  5. It had to be said.
    I’m glad they finally came to their senses and cancelled the Marathon.

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I’m all for tradition and keeping a stiff upper lip and all that jazz, but that was just ridiculous. In fairness, I don’t think Bloomberg thought it through. I don’t think he was trying to be mean-spirited. I think he was being a little too optimistic. I do, however, admire his ability to acknowledge that his decision was ill-advised and to change it. Lots of politicos aren’t as willing to admit they are wrong.

      Like

  6. rossmurray1 says:

    Da-a-a-a-a-a-a-amn!

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Sorry for the shocking use of far too many vulgarities. I know that you, and my other Canadian friends, would have certainly found much better ways to say it than I did. Perhaps I should have asked you how to say it in Québécois, LOL!

      Like

  7. peachyteachy says:

    Well said, sister.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

