Alas! We’re Not Those Sort of People!


orangesofa

This is my version of the dangling carrot. It’s my motivation to achieve the “purge everything in the hovel” goal I  have set for myself.

We are not really orange velvet couch sort of people. That being said. I love this couch. And it’s not really orange. It’s something called “Sunshine”. Truth be told, it’s really a settee, which, I guess, is just a fancier way of saying loveseat. I can’t imagine telling someone to  “have a seat on the settee and I’ll be right with you.” (Nor can I imagine a scenario in which I’d have to “be right with” someone in my living room — but these are the things I think about when furniture shopping.) So,  I’ll just call it a loveseat because insofar as we are not orange couch sort of people, we are really NOT “Sunshine Settee” sort of people.

I’m not married to the “sunshine” option.  It also comes in purple, turquoise, and olive. Oh, and gray, which they call “elephant”. So, we’ll probably settle for the gray, which I will call “elephant”,  because, well, it just sounds better than “gray”, don’t you think? Also, anyone who knows anything about us knows that “elephant” is really more in keeping with who we are than “sunshine”. Yeah. We’re definitely more “elephant” than “sunshine” sort of people.

greysofa

Of course, unless I can come up with a wicked austerity plan (one that Fang and Fangette can also agree upon), which may include not eating on a daily basis, there’s a good chance that I’ll never get it at all. Unless it goes on sale. Big sale. Because it’s over $1500. Certainly we are NOT “$1500 Elephant Settee” sort of people.  Although, if we cut out the daily meals, all three of us could, presumably, fit on the settee at the same time. Bonus!

Photo credit: couch.com

41 thoughts on “Alas! We’re Not Those Sort of People!

  1. […] posts: Alas! We’re Not Those Sort of People! What Passes For Normal On An Ordinary Saturday Here’s To Hoping For the Best! Things That Are […]

    Like

  2. […] this time I’m happier with the compromise. (No leather. No microfiber.) It’s not the gorgeous velvet settee that I had my eye on. Alas, I had to grudgingly admit that while the settee is both beautiful and […]

    Like

  3. I love the sunshine, but would be purchasing the elephant because I don’t have a lot to go with the sunshine. Sometimes I wish I could be a little less practical when it comes to furniture. Most of the chair/sofa items in my house are a shade of brown. We are pretty lame in the furniture area. Sigh. Go sunshine! 🙂

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I’m really trying to be a little more bold this time around. I’ve always gone for the neutrals. Even if I go with the “elephant”, I am determined to at least get a funky chair, LOL!

      Like

  4. wedelmom says:

    LOVE the sunshine and the elephant settee and how fancy, albeit light-headed, would you feel if you were in fact able to convince Fang and Fangette that style is way more important than food??
    Remind me to contact you after we move and I am furniture shopping. We have reached the agreement that none of our worn out really ugly living room furniture is making the cut. I’m going to need some refined help……

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I hear ya! I’m trying to figure all of this out myself! I know what I like, but I have take my husband’s taste into consideration. He’s kind of a pain in the ass with this stuff. Most husbands don’t care, but mie does. Ugh!

      Like

      • wedelmom says:

        Yeah that would make it a bit more challenging. Mine really only cares about the price range. I could put a sunshine settee in the room with an eggplant chair and turquoise throw pillows and he wouldn’t care as long as I stayed in the budget.

        Like

  5. Ellen Dolgen says:

    I don’t know, sunshine looks really comfy :>)

    Like

  6. Can anyone tell me the difference between a couch, a sofa, and a settee? Here in Limeyland the word settee is very infra dig, but that’s as much as I know.
    And a loveseat is a very different idea. It’s S shaped so genteel ladies could face their swains but not be within touching distance. Quaint.

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Here loveseat and settee are interchangeable (or have become so over time). They are, generally, “two-seaters” and, as such, smaller than sofas (or couches). Sofa and couch are synonyms.

      I love the quaintness of the rounded loveseat definition you give. Your people are adorable.

      Like

  7. Chloe says:

    I like this settee, but I’m also not a $1500 elephant settee sort of person. Yikes!

    Like

  8. Oh wow, all this talk about couches today! Just imagine what the 3 year old Fangette could have done with the Sunshine option! A mural of a rainbow on the back part of settee would make a lovely addition! I have only bought and owned vintage couches from the 50’s and 60’s in my life. I have a strange passion for them and strangely I always find ones in incredible condition because people always kept them covered in plastic! I saw a black and white houndstooth one awhile back that I really wanted at an estate sale but had no way to haul it home that day! I find it so hard to believe you’re an elephant person….I thought sunshine for sure!!! haha!!!

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I love vintage, but Fang has other ideas. He’s not a fan of other people’s furniture. Our last couch was a garage sale Thomasville. I wanted to keep it and invest in the reupholstery, instead I got stuck buying the crap I have now, which I have always hated, but he beat me down. Not this time, though. Not this time! [fist in the air]

      Like

  9. peachyteachy says:

    Okay, Sunshine. My fam called it a Davenport. Now go place me in your Regional Furniture Colloquialism Guide. I am a bit of a color name aficionado, and I should like to propose that we call your coveted seating option “Storm.” Or, alternately, “Smoke.” Oh God. I really like “Smoke.”

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I like “Smoke”, too. Perhaps we should contact sofa.com and alert them to the change.

      I love a good regionalism, don’t you?

      Like

  10. haralee says:

    It is such a conversation starter to mention your ‘Sunshine Settee’! Go for Sunshine maybe it has Vitamin D?

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      That’s true. I’d have to find new friends, though. I cannot imagine starting (or having) a conversation about my “Sunshine Settee” with the company I currently keep. Maybe it’s time to throw them off in favor of a better class of people—People with whom I could engage in conversations about settees and, possibly, toile.

      Like

  11. Ad-libb3d says:

    I would get a settee, just to say I was posh enough to own something called a settee. Plus I’d always use an accent when I talk about it.

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Yes…I will have to look up the French… there must be an accent ague or grave somewhere in that word. LOL.

      Thanks for noticing how very posh I truly am.

      Like

  12. ethelthedean says:

    Bloody hilarious. And I’m digging the settee. I would get it in purple. And who the heck would buy it in turquoise!? Madness.

    Like

  13. Rick says:

    I’ve never known anyone with a Sunshine Settee. Very fancy.

    Like

  14. Okay, I admit to preferring the Sunshine option…but at that price, I’m afraid we must forego it. This time, anyway.
    Those are some groovy settees, though.
    Karen

    Like

  15. rossmurray1 says:

    I just finished writing a piece in which I refer to our “settee” and wondered if a) anyone would know what that was and b) I sounded poncey. Now at least I know the answer to a). Funny, I though of “divan” but not “loveseat.” Anyway, the colour of our settee is “phlegm.”

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      I always think that “divan” refers to a couch; “settee” to a loveseat.

      Well, you’re “phlegm” kind of people. I understand. I have privately begun to think of “elephant” as “cloudy”, which is more in keeping with who we are even than “elephant”.

      Like

    • And here in Canada, we have chesterfields. Which is what I called our sofa/couch/divan during my first 20 years or so.

      Like

      • javaj240 says:

        My grandmother used to call our couch/sofa/divan a “Chesterfield”… too funny. I had forgotten all about it until now.

        Like

      • rossmurray1 says:

        Nova Scotia born, my friend. We were chesterfield people but now even my parents call it a couch. It makes me sad in a way when I call my own a “sofa,” even worse when I refer to “pop” as “soda.” The end of regional language is something else we can blame on the Internet.

        Sigh….

        Like

  16. lifeonwry.com says:

    Wicked cool couch.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

