Honesty: It Is NOT Always the Best Policy.


honestypolicyThere may not be a bad time to experience that fifteen minutes of fame that Andy Warhol promised us. I would argue, however, that there may be a time when being the “Toast of the Town” may not be optimal; times when, for example, it would be highly inconvenient to be invited to spend a few minutes with Kathie Lee and Hoda. For me, that time would be now. Not now as in right this minute, although this wouldn’t be a good time, either, as it’s Sunday morning and what I’m wearing could best, and if you were inclined to kindness, be described as “a get-up”. Hey, it’s the first cold morning and I haven’t yet dug out my heavy robe!

It occurs to me that the heavy robe has a “get-up” quality to it, as well. Alas, the condition of my sleepwear is a story that will have to wait for another day. For now, we’ll just focus on the condition of my hair.

Now and for as long as I am sporting this bad haircut would be poor timing in terms of my achieving any level of fame, success, or notoriety. Now is dependent upon how quickly my hair grows out.  Now, in this context, could mean months. Or, possibly, years.

Like a beer run at 2 a.m., it all started out innocently enough, but ended, as these things often do, in tragedy and heartbreak. It’s all my fault, though. I take complete responsibility. Although I think it would be nice if the good folks over at Groupon and my stylist bore some of the blame for the situation that I currently find myself in. Nice, but not necessary.

The situation that I currently find myself in is, to be exact, this: I have two different haircuts and only the one head. From the back it looks like she was going for a “Fonz” look; for the front she drew her inspiration from either Victoria Beckham or Anna Wintour. My money is on “Posh Spice”, though, as I don’t think this young lady, if she had a gun to her head and her life was dependent upon identifying Anna Wintour, would be up to the task!

Sure, she was vapid enough to be a “Vogue” reader. She simply did not strike me as they type of person who would have the slightest interest in the history of that magazine.

What she was interested in was giving me something “funky” in the way of a new hairdo. I was not aware that this was her game plan until it was too late, until she was finished and said, “Oh, my God. This is great. Soooo funky!” If you want to send chills of terror through the spine of a 49-year-old woman AND you are a hairdresser who has just cut said 49-year-old woman’s hair, I highly recommend that you utter that sentence. It’s a real attention-grabber.

Why did I end up with the 20-year-old stylist? The one whose own hair was not only dyed a color that does not, to my knowledge, occur in nature, but also a young woman who appeared to have been out to all hours the night before my tragic hair experience? If her breath was any indication, she was not out volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

I was tempted to offer her a mint, to cover up the smell of the dozen, or so, vodka drinks that she had imbibed in the night before, but I feared that this behavior, well-meaning though it would have been, may have been construed as rude, rather than helpful. Certainly I did not want the young lady who was going to take scissors to my hair to dislike me.

Had I known what the end result was going to be, I may have offered her the damn mint. It would be difficult to imagine that there is a worse haircut out there than the one I ultimately received. But, who knows?

I have decided, upon reviewing the events of yesterday, that I ended up with the most inexperienced, the most hung over, the most sleep-deprived, salon worker in the building because I was honest. I did what the Groupon coupon told me to do — something I will NEVER do again — which was to identify myself as a Groupon holder. (The person who walked in behind me, the one who walked out looking like a normal person — you know, one haircut, one head — had done no such thing. She just made a regular appointment, showed up, and THEN presented HER coupon. You live and you learn, folks. You live and you learn.) Because I was honest, I got what I got.

Honesty can be a bit of a sticky wicket, though, can’t it? It is NOT always the best policy. Ask me if I was honest when she finished with my hair? I was not. Because what would have been worse than suffering a bad haircut would have been expressing my feelings about it to the 20-year-old hairdresser, who, her personal habiats notwithstanding, was a very sweet girl.

While my initial reaction was, in fact, “WTF?”, I made the conscious decision to hide it. I decided, instead, when she breathlessly and, yes, hopefully asked me my opinion, to lie. I wasn’t going to be the one to swing the heavy club — the one filled with sarcasm and, yes, shock. I feared that if I had employed honesty, I may have crushed her spirit, damaged her self-esteem.

Who wants to be responsible for that? Not me. Me? I’d rather live with a bad haircut — or, in this case, two bad haircuts.

10 thoughts on “Honesty: It Is NOT Always the Best Policy.

  1. peachyteachy says:

    Hopefully it stops short of a troll haircut.

    Like

  2. kathyradigan says:

    Oh in a moment of desperation once when I couldn’t get in to my regular stylist I stopped in some place and well, I will never do that again! Lol! You did get a good post out of it if that’s any consolation! 🙂

    Like

  3. Haralee says:

    Groupons are dangerous for hair, nail OK but even if you weren’t honest the results may have been the same. I think you should have after the deed mentioned to the young woman that this is not the look you wanted to save the women after you but I know it is difficult and you make some sensitive points on this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had one really atrocious haircut/perm in the early 80’s – it was months of pain before I felt ok about my hair again!

    Like

  5. Cathy says:

    Once, in trying to keep up with the Joneses (the Joneses, at the time, being all of the 20 somethings I worked with at my first job in NYC where it was a jungle of competition) got my hair cut at the famous Bumble & Bumble. It was about twice as much as I could afford, and you have to tip a zillion people. At the end I was left looking like a boy, sideburns and all, because they wanted to cut away my curls. I was mortified and wanted to take a leave of absence till my hair grew back. Being young I said nothing.

    I feel for you, but honestly? I bet you still look your beautiful self. You personality fills a room and to me that is what’s most important! But I DO UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE SAYING – agh! xoxoxo

    Like

    • javaj240 says:

      Your hair is tricky, no doubt. Still, I feel you. I once went to a very expensive salon for “corrective” color (whatever that means)… Over $300 later, I looked like I had taken 7 different hair dyes and applied them, willy-nilly, to my own head. It was awful. But, at least, the cut was good 🙂

      One of my coworkers told me it isn’t so bad — and that I should just tell people that I slept on it wrong, LOL! I told him that I was thinking of telling people that ALL the hair on ONLY the back of my head had been singed off while I was making cupcakes for the homeless. OMG. Still, first world problems, right? It’ll grow back.

      Like

Tell Me What You Think!

