Fun in a Box


NaBloPoMo14DayEighteenI emerged this morning from my cocoon-like bed to frigid temperatures. One word: Brrrrr!

I can’t say I hadn’t been warned. Fang did mention last night that it was going to get cold today. So grateful was I for our new hot water heater (and the hot water that now, once again, runs through the pipes) that I treated the plummeting temperature news with a shrug and, yes, possibly even a “Pschaw!” — and then I woke up to the reality of it all.

It’s cold. Cold enough for me to drag out my heavy winter coat and the other paraphernalia that goes along with it — the hat, the gloves, the scarf.

My heavy coat is a utilitarian affair. It’s big and black. The best thing that I can say about it is that it accessorizes well. That’s more important than you might think.

While I don’t look forward to single-digit temperatures, I must admit that I do like rummaging through my box (a rather large crate-like thing) of foul-weather gear. It’s chock-full of goodies. I am a woman of many hats (and scarves and mittens) — and I love them all.

Some days I’m in the mood for a jaunty red beret, other days the plum slouch hat calls my name. I’ve got ski hats, skull caps, and lumberjack hats, too. (I particularly like the plaid one with the ear flaps!) I had a cute “elf” hat — it was long and had a cone-like construction and a fluffy pom-pom at the end. Somewhere along the line I lost it. I really miss that hat.

It was fun to wear. It was difficult to have a bad attitude whilst wearing that hat. It was on days that I wasn’t in the best of humors that I would search out that hat. The minute I plopped it on my head I couldn’t help but smile. It was an immediate mood changer.

I searched high and low for the damn thing to no avail. It’s just gone.

I need to make a new one. I’m going to drag out my crochet hook (or my knitting needles), get some really soft wool (the original one was fleece), find a pattern (that will be the hardest part, I fear), and whip myself up a new elf hat.

If I’m successful — and there’s no reason to think I won’t be — maybe I’ll make one for Fangette, too. I’ll bet that there will come a day during the seemingly endless Vermont winter when she’ll appreciate owning such a thing.

An elf hat is, as I said, much more than just something to keep your head warm. It’s fun in a box. Yeah, I’m going to make her one. How could I not? How many opportunities does a person have to give someone the gift of fun? In a box? Not many, that’s for sure.


Do you have your own version of the “elf” hat? Are you lucky enough to own something that just makes you happy when you put it on?

26 thoughts on “Fun in a Box

  1. I have a similar box of foul-weather gear and my fave hat is this grey FLUFFY one with little teddy bear ears. You can never be sad when wearing teddy bear ears, I tried once.

    Like

  2. Hey, we want pictures! I am so not a hat person so it’s a good thing I now live in Southern California! I do wish I could knit, though.

    Like

  3. Mine wasn’t and isn’t a hat, but a rain slicker that I bought while I was in college. It was sky blue with dark blue elephants. I don’t know where it went to, but I think of it often, and I always miss it. As for hats, my favorite would be my Tilley, a safari style hat. That baby goes everywhere with me, from my garden to Alaska to Paris to the school drive line.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I so wish I could knit or crochet because I always wear a hat in the cold weather. And man, it was cold today!

    Like

  5. You can crochet? I’m so impressed. This post has inspired me to find the perfect elf hat. I’m sure the way this winter is starting, I’ll love using it bunches.

    Like

  6. Yeah, it was cold today and it’s supposed to stay that way for a couple of days. So, you will have a chance to wear a few of those accessories. I refuse to take out my winter coat! I did wear hat and gloves but I was not happy about it!

    Like

  7. Living in warm weather year-round, I never wear a hat, though I think they look great on other people. Stay warm!

    Like

  8. I have a shelf filled with hats, scarves, gloves… yet I rarely wear any but one pair of black gloves and one scarf made by my stepmother. Not very fashionable am I. (But I do stay warm…. for the most part, despite the frigid Colorado temps of late.)

    Like

  9. elinwaldal says:

    One of these days I hope that a plum slouch hat calls my name! I can hear it from here…Oh E-l-i-n…. Yup. That sounds about right. As for the elf hat? I can tell you now that I know my mother would sure approve, so imagine her looking down on you as you knit some magic into it. 🙂

    Like

  10. Ruth Curran says:

    This is the first year I have not felt guilty about no longer living in the cold. I used to have hundreds of hats and scarves and mittens. Now? None! Stay warm!

    Like

  11. Carolann says:

    I like the cold weather and sweaters, scarfs, coats, and the whole shebang! I love fun hats too!

    Like

  12. I have a zillion scarves because I only know how to knit scarves and blankets. I attempted to learn how to crochet but fugettaboutit! Oy.

    I’d love to look good in hats, but with my short hair I don’t. I love them.

    My dad brought me a beret home from France, exactly like the one he used to wear. When I put it on he exclaimed, “You look beautiful!”

    Don’t you love dads?

    Like

  13. OMG, you have hot water again! Oh, the simple things! Girlriend bought a Pokemon hat to wear when she walks the dog, but it traumatized him so much she had to return it. Maybe an elf hat?

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

